Andy'S iter.

Coding Frustrations

As I improve my programming skills and explore new tech, I keep getting overwhelmed by all the information. Maybe I’m just impatient, but it’s incredibly frustrating to spend time messing around with code and end up with nothing to show for it. I mentioned this in another blog, but I still don’t know how to feel about it. Is it me? Is it just the nature of programming?

I’ve been coding as a hobbyist for a while, but this year I decided to take it more seriously and learn better practices. I wanted to make coding a daily habit. However, as I dive into more complex repositories, I often find myself going down a rabbit hole of reading docs, code, and comments, trying to figure out what I need to produce the results I want. I end up coding all day, only to see a few lines of code actually make it into the final product.

It’s definitely a lack of domain knowledge in the libraries I’m using, but is there no faster way to learn them?

Now that I think about it, I’ve been exploring a lot of new repos lately—botting, Roblox scripting, Textual, and Hugo. Maybe it’s just an odd situation where I feel like I’m drowning in technology.

Do you feel the same way? If you’re more experienced, does this feeling go away as you get better? I doubt it. Love to hear back from someone.

P.S. I think I just need to keep at it.

email me andysit173@gmail.com